Chemical elements and their symbols in the Middle Ages

Until the Middle Ages only a few elements were known, including lead, iron, gold, silver, tin, mercury, copper, carbon and sulfur.

The symbol of the elements was given according to their name derived from Latin.

Examples are:
- Gold - Au (Aurum) - Yellow
- Silver - Ag (Argentum) - Shiny
- Carbon - C (Carbon) - Coal
- Tin - Sn (Stanum) - easy to fuse

During the Middle Ages, chemistry did not yet exist as a science. At this time it was known as Alchemy.

Some symbols used until the Middle Ages:

Other elements also had different figures such as antimony, lead, fire, water, air, sulfur, arsenic and bismuth. Note that at this time fire was still considered a chemical element and water as well.